Simple Living Works!

New SLW! Podcast Launched

Posted on: August 8, 2013

SLWpodcast

I can remember when it hit me. I was sitting in a modest hotel room in Paris, France. We were on a family vacation. The elevator only hauled one person at a time. I was reading a book from Alternatives. I was given clear, inspiring permission to non-conform. (We Lutherans need permission.) My eyes were wide. I devoured the book.

Now decades later this retired guy is learning how to produce and distribute podcasts, this somewhat new-ish form of narrowcasting (not broadcasting). Almost anyone who has the passion and stick-to-it-ive-ness can reach out to people who have a similar interest, almost for free.

I’ve learned much about the skill from my volunteer job as co-host and producer of The Common Good Podcast each month. Thanks, Jubilee Economics, for the opportunity, which I plan to continue.  (Btw, Lee and I have really interesting folks lined up for this fall.)

This reminds me a bit of the time I moved a pipe organ of 1000+ pipes into our geodesic dome from a church in Wisconsin. Or the time we moved the dome from Sioux City to Sergeant Bluff. I said at the time, “I’m too old to have to learn all this stuff about zoning regulations.” But my wife has a saying, “Do something everyday that scares you.”

The Plan

Our initial offering is a series of three shorter, getting-acquainted episodes to “get the bugs out.” They’re all available now. Yes, there are a couple of embarrassing moments.

Then we intend to produce a half-hour podcast twice a month, hopefully educational and inspiring for you, your family and your congregation or group.

I’ve been listening to my favorite podcasts on my little player for the last several years. With podcasts, we can listen at a time that suits us.  The topics usually appeal to a small but loyal audience. There are thousands of podcasts series. iTunes categorizes them, such as religion, education, etc. If you know the actual name of the podcast you want to hear, key that name into the search box at the upper right of the iTune Store page. (Don’t be confused or distracted by the other media offered by iTunes, such as songs for sale.)

How to Listen and Comment

I have a dozen favorite podcast series, some monthly, most weekly, some 30 minutes, most an hour. I’ve subscribed to them so that they’re automatically downloaded into my computer. Then I simply plug my iPod into my computer and easily transfer them into my iPod for listening. I can also listen on my computer.

I use iTunes to subscribe to podcasts, though there are several podcast services, such as Stitcher.com. Think of iTunes as a newspaper carrier, delivering a podcast from the publisher to you. iTunes can be used on PCs or Macs. It’s no more complicated than your browser for your email. SmartPhones and iPads (or tablets) also have apps to listen to podcasts.

You can access all the podcast audio and the show notes either at SimpleLiving.startlogic.com/STW-PODCAST or at SimpleLivingWorks.org (then click window #3).

Or access individual episodes:

#1: Getting Acquainted

#2: 5 Life Standards

#3: Saga of Simply Enough

We’ll send you an email when each episode is posted when you click the box at the bottom of the show notes. Or subscribe through iTunes Store or your  favorite podcast service and each episode will be delivered to your inbox.

I hope you’re feeling comfortable accessing them, fitting them into your life and feeling their benefits.

When you go to the show notes — the written introduction — for each podcast episode, you’ll see an outline of the program plus lots of links to related or supporting material on the internet.

When you click ABOUT, you’ll see credits at the bottom. The theme song is, of course, “Simple Gifts,” performed by Earth Mama® at www.earthmama.org  with Joyce Rouse, vocals; Catherine Marx, keyboard; Jim Hoke, harmonica.

The Cover Art “Peter’s Dancing Person” (also known as “Dancing with Spirit”) by Peter Yuichi Clark appears in Spirit of Simplicity: Quotes & Art – 3c. Celebrating #3A-305; and in Worship Alternatives: Items: Other/Hunger #353. Used by permission of Seeds of Hope – SeedsPublishers.org.

Your comments are welcome, either here, at the show notes, on the SLW! Facebook page, or by email at Podcast AT SimpleLivingWorks DOT org. You may want to comment on the content, the production values (like voice quality), the helpfulness of the show notes, etc.

If you think podcasting is a waste of time, a passing fad, be aware that iTunes just announced its one Billionth podcast subscription!

Do your friends a favor. Share this blog and podcast.

If you’re still not convinced to try it, you may want to read my recent blog The Joy of Podcasts.

Peace, Gerald

Leave a comment

Categories

Archives