Simple Living Works!

My Birthday Wonder!

Posted on: March 5, 2013

1-A4359

Graphic from Spirit of Simplicity:
1. Voluntary Simplicity

Dear daughter Elysha,

Wow! In addition to the little lap desk that you’re going to give me (I’m just testing it in advance right now), Rita and I went shopping yesterday and got me a nice used electric razor and a used pair of running shoes at Thrift Stores.

You may ask why used stuff is so wonder-ful. An important part of wonder is surprise. Anybody can buy a new razor for $40 or new running shoes for $60. But what a surprise to find size 13 for $5! Or a nice electric razor marked down from $5 to $2! All it took was a little persistence and the willingness to visit a couple of local non-profit thrifts instead of driving to a big box store.

And I get Medicare. 65 is great!

Hope you’re having as much fun as I am. I’m doing important stuff too.

Please Like my new Facebook page. And follow me at Twitter. Kind of skimpy right now but I’m building them.

Love ya,

Dad

3/1/13

More about simpler birthdays.

Tags:

1 Response to "My Birthday Wonder!"

Leave a comment

Categories

Archives